Reynolda Quartet

Location: Reynolda House Museum of American Art – Auditorium

Cost: $25; $20 student; Free for WFU and UNCSA

Seasoned Prodigies

Mozart wrote his first large scale opera at 14.  Mendelssohn waited until the ripe old of age of 17 to compose his beloved string octet. But equally impressive is how each in their short lives continued to grow and develop.  In the prime of life, Mozart was newly inspired by the counterpoint of Bach and the quarters of Haydn when he wrote his brilliant A Major Quartet K. 464. Mendelssohn’s tragic Quartet in F Minor Op. 80 was his last major work, dedicated to the passing of his beloved sister Fanny. Please join the Reynolda Quartet for two mature works by these compositional kindred spirits.

Past Date and Time(s):
Apr 2, 2023, 3:00pm — 4:30pm

More to Explore

See full calendar